I’m Ken, 26 turning 27 this year. I’ve been living this lifestyle for quite some time now. First time I stepped into a gym was freshman year of high school for freshman football. I was a scrawny Filipino kid who tried out for football, didn’t know what I was doing. I was still a novice and didn’t know much about working out. All I knew was in order to get big; you lift heavy weights and eat a lot. That’s it. I didn’t really get into this lifestyle until I hit college. I still didn’t know what I was doing. I was still a newb. It wasn’t until I joined the San Jose State Boxing team where I really honed my skills in everything from diet to figuring out different kinds of workouts.

I first started doing the way I thought was the correct way. Just eat  whatever I thought was healthy, workout, and hope it starts to work.  In my own eyes I thought I was seeing a difference, but in reality it didn’t do anything. It wasn’t  until  my old roommate questioned me. He said “hey ken, what do you think about not eating anything before your workout, wait a little bit then eat”. I told him “ why, my method  was working” acting  like I know my stuff.  I questioned it and was hesitant of trying it, but then he introduced me to The Hodgetwins and the rest was history.    I started to watch a bunch of “youbers” to become more educated in this lifestyle. I learned about counting your calories, tracking your macros(macronutrients), and how this was a more complicated process than I expected it to be. With training in boxing and the knowledge I got out of these videos. I was able to get down to 5% body fat and keep it. I now realize that  isn’t good to stay there, but I couldn’t let go of the fact that it was pretty awesome seeing definition and being really lean.

A couple years later, I unfortunately suffered a life changing accident. I was struck by a car. Walking home with a few friends after an event, in a busy intersection. I was hit by a car going 40 MPH. I suffered a TBI(traumatic brain injury), the doctors did surgery on my brain and I was in a coma from ‘ate April until early June.  I’ve been on the road to recovery ever since then. With the crazy amount of help from loved ones and with God by my side I was able to come back even stronger and wiser  than before. I was fortunate enough to be able to get back to the lifestyle I loved to live and be able to hi the gym right after I got out of the hospital. Thinking about the many people who have helped me and seeing friends go for their passions. I thought about creating this. I enjoy helping people, being a source of motivation and seeing them change for the better. I love to seeing  people transform into a better version of themselves. This is my way of giving back. I hope i can be a source for help. You are not alone in this process of transformation. There will be bumps, trials, and tribulations.  With a never give up attitude,  a little education, and some help. Anything is possible. Remember YES YOU CAN!

Leave a Reply

