I thought I would make my first official post a topic that I’ve always been asked about What is the best way to lose or gain weight? Whatever your goal is,  the best way is counting your calories. I believe this is the most efficient and quickest way you can achieve your goals. I like to give this example. Imagine your body is the vehicle and your diet is your map. How would you know where you are going, if you do not have a map? You want to know what you are putting in your body. There a lot of way to figure out these numbers. The way i figured out these numbers. I Follow a “youber” by the name of Michael Kory. He made a video about figuring out these numbers, here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKIuW_-03wQ&t=7s . I’ve used this method and it worked very well for me. First you need to figure out your goal, lose or gain weight. Then enter your information here   http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-calculator , To figure out your BMR. Once you get that number multiply it depending on your activity level using the numbers here.

Image result for calories

– Sedentary (doesn’t work out at all, you need to change that) = BMR x 1.2

– Lightly active( workouts 1-3 days a week) = BMR x 1.375

– Moderate ( goes 3-5 days a week) = BMR x 1.55

– Active ( someone who doesn’t like to skip workouts maybe goes  5-7 days a week) = BMR x 1.725

– Very active( works out a ton and has a very active job) = BMR x 1.9

After you figure out that number, that is your maintenance calories (calories to maintain your weight). Then depending on your goal you would subtract or add 3-5 hundred. Subtract 500  from that number if you want to lose weight. Add 3-5 hundred if you are looking to gain weight. Let’s use an example person.

Sam weighs 150 and wants to gain weight. His BMR would be,  using the calculator above is 1674.6. Then depending on his activity level you multiple that number by one of the numbers above. Sam works out moderately and goes to the gym 3 days a week. 1674.6 multiple 1.55 and you get 2595.63. He wants to gain weight, we take that number and add 300 calories and get 2895.63. I like to round my numbers so let’s say he needs 3000 calories in order to be efficient in gaining weight. If his goal was losing weight. He would subtract 500 from that number.

There you have it, what I believe is to be the most efficient way to lose or gain weight. I understand there are people who choose not to count and be so asccurate. They would eat more than what they need. The problem with that, the way I see it. Those excess calories will eventually turn to fat and it will take much longer for you to cut down and become lean. If you eat too little, you will not only hurt your metabolism, but you will gain it back quick. I believe it is 80% diet and 20% workout. Abs are made in the kitchen right.  Use the my fitness pal app to track your food  if you have a smart phone. I use this all the time to track all my food. It is very simple and easy to use. You type  your food or scan the barcode and all the nutrition facts will pop right up! What type of workouts you should do is another story and another blog. Thanks Everyone! Remember YES YOU KEN!

Image result for my fitness pal

  • Ken

 

Leave a Reply

