Image result for HIIT

I wanted to talk about my favorite form of cardio. Running on the treadmill or just running for several minutes gets real boring to me. If you feel the same, I suggest you try HIIT, on your next cardio session. If you’re wondering what HIIT is, it stands for high intensity interval training. It’s a type of workout that switches from an intense period to a controlled low intense period. I enjoy doing this type of cardio  for many reasons, but the biggest reason is that I am able to test myself in terms of speed and I can go super hard during my session.

It has many benefits, but the most important one is that you are able to burn more fat in a shorter amount of time due to the intensity. You are also able to do it anywhere you have room to run, which is great because if you don’t have a gym, you can do this anywhere there is room.  If you don’t have time, you’re able to complete a whole workout in a short amount of time.   Here is a video by Sean Nalewanyj explaining this type of cardio versus your typical slower paced cardio https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfsJkUmHdPo

My favorite way to perform this type of cardio is to sprint a short distance and jog back.  For example at my gym there is a 25 yard turf field I love using. I sprint that entire length, going at full speed and as hard as I can. Then I would jog back and that would be one. I do this for 2 sets of 3 and then I would continue on my workout for that day. I like doing this on my leg day, it not only helps me burn fat but it’s a great way to help build my legs.

If you’re lucky enough to have a 400 meter track near you, this is a great way to utilize it. I loved doing this at my nearby track; it helped me with cardio when I was training for boxing. This is the way I tackle this  on the track. I would sprint the straights and then jog the curves for a mile. It may seem like a real challenge at first, but once you start getting used to it, it’ll become a breeze. Your cardio will become ten times better once you start incorporating this into your workout regimen.

If you’re at the gym and want to work this in your workout, but you don’t have a field or track to run on. You can do this on the treadmill. Just set your speed at a fast pace and run for a certain amount of time then slow down and jog, rinse and repeat. You can also do this on the stationary bike. Go hard for a certain amount of time then coast, repeat as much as necessary.

Try incorporating this type of cardio in your next workout! You can lose those last couple pounds, YES YOU KEN!

If you guys have a topic you want me to write about next, let me know! Send them over to yesyouken90@gmail.com

  • Ken
2 thoughts on “My favorite form of cardio

Leave a Reply

