Sup Everybody,

I’m going to start posting once a month. I’m running out of topics :(. If you have a topic suggestion, send it to my email! I’ve been asked by friends and co-workers, how do I find the motivation to work out and stay motivated. To be honest it’s really simple, I want to write about how to start and giving my two cents on beginning this process of transforming your body. I hope by the time you finish reading this you’re motivated enough to get out there and reach some goals.

First step is to find your why, why do you want to start this journey. Is it to lose weight and fit in that new dress/shirt you just bought?  Tired of being the skinny kid and want to have arms that can bust the sleeves of your old shirts or do you want to get stronger and be able to lift twice your weight? For me it was tired of being the small and skinny kid. I also wanted to become stronger and  more built. Living a healthier and fit lifestyle was an added benefit. No  matter what your goal is, you need to have one and stick to it.

Then do your research! Find a regimen that will work for you and only you. Honestly, everything I learned was all found on YouTube and received advice from friends. Everything I learned I used the trial and error technique. I figured out what works best for me and I stuck to it.  One way may work for someone else but not for you. Try it and see if it does. Remember this is all a process; you’re not going to get it in a day, week, or   even months. It could take years but just be patient and it will come to you.

Once you find a great workout regimen, try it. Learn how to do the workouts, research proper form and technique! You don’t want to get injured right when you begin this journey. Always keep your glass half full, you’re always learning in this lifestyle.

Once you start hitting the gym and getting your diet on track. You will start seeing your body transform and trust me you will love it. I loved seeing my body transform and me getting stronger. You start seeing your chest grow, pants get tighter, shirts get smaller, arms get bigger, and see those pounds fly off the scale. You learn to love the process; it’s amazing to see your body change.

On staying motivated, I like to tell my friends. Always keep that goal in the back of your mind. That’s a great way to stay motivated. You want to lose weight, how are you going to do that if you just stay at home or not do anything. How are you going to reach that goal by not doing anything? Your workout and diet is not going to work unless you do. Also make it fun, I have so much fun in the gym. Trying new workouts and seeing which ones I like to do I fun to me. With a great workout playlist, it’ll be even more fun.  It feels great when your song comes on the playlist while you’re doing your workout. It pumps me up even more.

Another  reason why I always stay motivated, I love the gym. It’s one of the best relationships I have.  When I’m feeling good, I can go to her and she’ll make me feel even better. When I’m stressed, she’s there to help me feel better.  She won’t fight back and she’ll make me better. I also love getting better every day and one way I can do that is to hit the gym. Once you start and make it a habit, you’ll start to enjoy it like I do. You’ll stop feeling  like you have to go and start wanting to go.

 

There will be days where you’ll feel like not going to the gym. Maybe it’s your body telling you to rest, hit it twice as hard the next day. Just make sure you don’t do it for a week or month straight. Once you start  feeling like you’re getting it right, you’ll want to keep going. Love the process is all I want you to do! Trust me it’s going to be great! It will be worth it in the end once you get the body you were working towards and you’ll be proud of yourself!

I tell all my friends all you need are two things hard work and dedication. With some added knowledge and research, your goals are closer than you think!

There you have it, my take on beginning this journey.  Just remember to love the process, be patient,  and YES YOU KEN!

 

-Ken

 

 

Leave a Reply

